Adventure Time / Slice of Life: Japanese Classic Car Show 2013

Wow! It’s been a while since my last post, huh? Well, I started working at a software development company recently so I’ve been mostly busy with that. After two weeks of new hire training and a business trip in this upcoming week, I needed to do something fun and decided to tag along with Ron and Twan for their excursion out to JCCS 2013 at the Queen Mary in Long Beach, CA.

IMG_4110-2

Ron and I have been attending this even annually for the past couple years, and even though the space for the show hasn’t changed, it seemed like there were many more cars present than previous years. In fact, even the parking lot was a lot more full than I remember. There were so many cars that you didn’t even have to purchase a ticket to the show to see some nice cars out in the parking lot.

As you entered the venue, you were greeted by the staff, the smell of typical fair food, and the bustling crowd of classic car enthusiasts. The layout changed a bit too. This year, you were treated to a bunch of beautiful Datsun Roadsters out in front among all the vendor booths.

My favorite Fairlady in the whole show.

I’m not sure if this is the Datsun 1600 or 2000, but it was my favorite in the whole show.

There were also some vendor cars floating around. There definitely were no shortage of Datsun Fairlady Zs and Toyota AE86s.

Toyota Corolla

Toyota Corolla

Datsun Z

Datsun Z

As always, the cars were arranged by make and model. We decided to make our way around the event in a counter clockwise fashion. I was greeted by one of my favorite Honda Z600s after our group decided which way to head. I’ve seen this car in previous years and it’s great to see that it looks as great as ever.

Honda Z600

Honda Z600

It was also pretty strange to see second generation Mazda RX-7s as part of the show now. It makes me wonder how soon will Nissan 240sx will be regulars in the show.

Mazda RX-7 FC

Mazda RX-7 FC

After passing the Hondas and Mazdas, we came upon all the Toyotas. You can’t go wrong AE86s and TE72s. The first of the two that stuck out to me was John Russakoff’s Toyota Corolla AE86 that he built for drag racing. It looks pretty neat and it attracted a lot of attention; especially for one that’s incomplete. It just goes to show that John’s work is top notch.

John's Toyota Corolla

John’s Toyota Corolla

The second AE86 that stuck out to me was this bright yellow one.

Toyota Corolla

Toyota Corolla

Even better was the trophy the owner placed in the engine bay. I got a good chuckle out of it.

Toyota Corolla

Toyota Corolla

I also have a soft spot for Datsun 510s. For some reason, this one looked rather lonely in the lineup, but it was the one that caught my eye. Looks awesome.

Datsun 510

Datsun 510

Surprisingly, we ran into another area full of Datsuns. This time, it was clear that the area was dedicated to all the iterations of Datsuns’ Fairlady Zs.

A row of Datsun Zs.

A row of Datsun Zs.

If the Z on the left wasn’t inspired by Wangan Midnight’s Devil Z, I would be shocked. It looks like a complete replica, haha.

Devil Z!?

Devil Z!?

After walking through the perimeter I came across this Datsun. I wasn’t sure what model it was at the time, but it was VERY nice. Upon searching, I believe its a Datsun 1000.

Datsun 1000

Datsun 1000

As we winded down from our rounds, we took a break and decided to catch a breather. I also decided to upload one of my photos directly off my Canon EOS 6D to my iPhone 4S for Instagram. I also showed Twan and Ron my remote shooting app on my iPhone. The following photos were taken by them using my phone with me holding the camera, haha.

Twan curiouosly browsing the Canon app.

Twan curiouosly browsing the Canon app.

Ron amused by Canon's remote shooting app.

Ron amused by Canon’s remote shooting app.

Before we left, Ron wanted to drop by the Mooneyes booth. Ron and Twan ended up buying a couple antenna balls for themselves. Sigh… fan boys. Hahaha. I’m joking.

Mooneyes Booth

Mooneyes Booth

Well, that’s it until next time! I can’t wait to see what else comes to the show next year.

One thought on “Adventure Time / Slice of Life: Japanese Classic Car Show 2013

  1. That is a 1967 1/2 1600 , its running on the original number matching 1600 motor with some upgrades. It has the electric ignition, dual Webber’s and electric fuel pump. I’m truly humbled by your cements. —”I’m not sure if this is the Datsun 1600 or 2000, but it was my favorite in the whole show.” I really appreciate the comments, too bad I didn’t meet you at the show.

Leave a Reply

