Adventure Time: First time at “K.R.O.P.S.”

While catching up online with my old friend Alex, he invited me out to a track event that he was going to be driving in. Itching to put my Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L lens to use, I decided to take him up on his offer. What type of gear head would pass up on spending the evening taking photos of fun cars and hanging out with a good ol’ friend?

IMG_3708

Originally, I thought we were going to an Adams Motorsport Park event, but I assumed wrong. It turned out that we were heading towards Perris, CA for Keep Racing off Public Streets’ (K.R.O.P.S.) event at Apex Kart Racing.

From what I learned from one of the organization’s photographers on-site, the organization has been running these events regularly since January of this year. Apparently the attendance of the event has been so good that the frequency of events increased for this summer season. Seriously, who doesn’t love track time? The event began around 6:30 PM and offered three sessions of track time throughout the evening until 10:00 PM. Each session allowed three laps per run group with three turns each; one session cost roughly $20 USD per driver or $50 USD for the whole night. In addition, spectators were treated to live music by a DJ and food for purchase on location.

Unfortunately, a media pass was required for in-field photos and I, as a hobbyist, was not qualified for one. I stuck to one spot throughout the event, but I moved around that area to avoid as many people in my shots as possible. I would have loved to get some shots from other parts of the track, but oh well. More information for future events can be found on K.R.O.P.S.’s website. Enjoy the photos!

Alex, in his Scion tC, staging for the first run of the evening.

Alex in his Scion tC, staging for the first run of the evening.

Spectating between runs.

Spectating between runs.

You have no idea how much I love Laguna Blue Honda S2000s. I couldn't keep my eyes off this car during the whole event.

You have no idea how much I love Laguna Blue Honda S2000s. I couldn’t keep my eyes off this car during the whole event.

And while I haven't had the opportunity to drive my S14 at the track recently, my helmet has seen more track time than me in 2 years, haha.

And while I haven’t had the opportunity to drive my S14 at the track recently, my helmet has seen experienced more track time than me in two years, haha.

Half the time may have been spent in line, but spirits were high!

Half the time may have been spent in line, but spirits were high!

Andrew, one of Alex's friends, flashes gang signs before a run. I kid, haha.

Andrew, one of Alex’s friends, flashes gang signs before a run. I kid, haha.

The S2K passing the second apex of the last turn of the course.

The S2K passing the second apex of the last turn of the course.

Call me crazy, but I love the new Ford Focus ST.

Call me crazy, but I love the new Ford Focus ST.

LanEvos? Yes, please.

LanEvos? Yes, please.

IMG_3715

IMG_3736

Alex making his way out of the last turn.

Alex making his way out of the last turn.

This was an interesting Bimmer to see at the event.

This was an interesting Bimmer to see at the event.

It's running additional LED lights. I couldn't get a good exposure of the effect at night, but those suckers were bright.

It’s running additional LED lights. I couldn’t get a good exposure of the effect at night, but those suckers were bright.

IMG_3793

IMG_3806

I'm a big fan of blue Miatas as well. If you love these roadsters, I love you too.

I’m a big fan of blue Miatas as well. If you love these roadsters, I love you too.

The fastest, most consistent times of the day was held by this guy. I didn't get a chance to check out the car in the pit, but I'm sure he was running on R-Comp tires.

The fastest, most consistent times of the day was held by this guy. I didn’t get a chance to check out the car in the pit, but I’m sure he was running on R-Comp tires.

I love it when Scion FR-S and Subaru BRZ owners take their brand new rides to the track.

I love it when Scion FR-S and Subaru BRZ owners take their brand new rides to the track.

IMG_3882

As night set in, the crowd grew larger. Every paid driver got their chance to make a run and have fun.

As night set in, the crowd grew larger. Every paid driver got their chance to make a run and have fun.

As the second session began, Andrew finally got his chance to drive instead of being Alex's navigator, haha.

As the second session began, Andrew finally got his chance to drive instead of being Alex’s navigator, haha.

With the track lights turned on, I was able to expose my photos for some interesting effects.

With the track lights turned on, I was able to expose my photos for some interesting effects.

So beautiful.

So beautiful.

Until next time, race fans!

Until next time, race fans!

Leave a Reply

