Deathbed

On my way to a family friend’s funeral, my daily driven 1989 Nissan 240sx met its end by hitting a really bad pothole in Mira Mesa, CA. Before I got a chance to take a look at it and diagnose the car for any repairs, the engine blew on the freeway. It shouldn’t have been driven after hitting the pothole, but I made the decision not to check the car for damages since I was in formal clothes and had a part in the upcoming funeral. There were no signs of leaks, zero odd noises until the last moment, or drop in the motor’s oil pressure. I would later find out that the oil pan was crushed by the pot hole and caused the oil pickup to get damaged as well. It was just it’s time to go. Now I am 2 for 2 in terms of loss of a motor due to oil consumption issues. (I lost an SR20DET to oil starvation after a hose popped off my S14’s oil cooling setup at Horst Thief Mile during a drift event in 2009.)

IMG_1223

The decision to part with this car was not easy. This was my first car, I had a lot of life experiences behind the wheel of this Nissan. I also had a lot of my “firsts” in this car that include a combination of run ins with the police, my first accident, my first date, my first drift event, good times, bad times, etc. I hate to part with it, but I’m ready to move on. I’m at the point where I can part with it without too much regret and continue to make new memories with a new car sometime in the future.  My 240sx will be parted out and the remaining shell will be either junked, donated to charity, or sold depending on what happens in the next few weeks.

IMG_1235

Leave a Reply

