Toyota GT86 Meets NASCAR

While I’m not much of a NASCAR series fan, I do love how the technology developed in NASCAR is moving into other motorsports. Orido and Aasbo seem like they will be sharing the car for Formula D Asia and possibly D1 Grand Prix. I’m not sure of the rules over there, but it’ll be interesting to watch. In this case, the Toyota was specifically fitted with a NASCAR spec V8 motor along with a NASCAR spec quick-change differntial system. I don’t think a NASCAR spec V8 has been used over here in Formula D, but I know large teams like Falken used the quick-change differential system in their team cars in the past has. I may not be a stock car fan, but I became a V8 fan once I saw how effective it can be when used in a light weight car in the drift world.

Leave a Reply

